The 6 Nations

The RBS 6 Nations Championship is a rugby competition between England, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, France and Italy.

The Six Nations Rugby tournament is one of the oldest competitions in the world. The first one was held in 1883. (That's over 130 years ago!!)

England is the most successful team in the history of the Six Nations having won the tournament 26 times.

England has also won 12 Grand Slams, the most by any team in history! Wales are 2nd with 10 and France 3rd with 9 Grand Slams.

A ‘Grand Slam’ in rugby is given to the team that wins every game in the competition.

The Six Nations trophy is made from sterling silver, and is worth around £55,000.

England player, Johnny Wilkinson holds the record for most points scored in a Six Nations match, scoring 35 points in England’s 2001 match against Italy.

Each nation hosts a game at a stadium in their country. For 2013 the stadiums are:

  • Twickenham - England
  • The Millennium Stadium - Wales
  • The Aviva Stadium - Ireland
  • Murrayfield - Scotland
  • Stade de France - France
  • Stadio Olimpico -  Italy

Wooden Spoon History

The wooden spoon is an award given to the team that comes last in the tournament, this is something that is common in  a lot of competitions, especially sport. Here is a list of the wooden spoon awards for the 6 nations.

  • Italy - 10 times in 200, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2014!
  • Scotland - 3 times in 2004, 2007 and 2012
  • Wales - once in 2003
  • France - once in 2013
  • England and Ireland have never been awarded the wooden spoon.

© 2021 JazzyMedia Limited